Guitar Hero

There is no denying the craze that is Guitar Hero. And we are considering this as a potential Christmas gift for our teens. Here is the delimma. How do you get around the content of both the music and the video? Reviews I have read seem to paint a dim view on the wholesomeness of the overall project. Scantily clad women. Profanity. Pentagrams. If you have played this game and can give some honest feedback, I would appreciate it before I plunk down some cash for the little heroes.

6 Responses to Guitar Hero

  1. David says:

    Rebecca would be the best person to ask as she is a GH3 addic…err…she plays it.

    I do know that your goal is to whoop the devil, which is kinda our goal in general. That being said, I don’t think you would care for the music in the game. I would check out a track list.

  2. chrismarlow says:

    I’m in the same boat-GH3 creates a lot of community, it’s fun and all. But graphics do suck.

    I guess you’ll be the best person to judge your kids. Is that going to effect them or not?

    I love the game and so does my daughter. But, she is 7. So I do not want her looking at that crap. If she was 12-13, maybe I would change my mind.

    Oh the joys of discernment 🙂

  3. My first kid is due in Feb – so I still don’t naturally look at things in ‘parent mode’ yet. But I have GH2 and have played it many times with youth from our church without feeling bad at all.
    It does have random pentagrams, but obviously no devil worship. I can’t recall any scantily clad in GH2, but they are very cartoony versions of people. And highly unrealistic.

    If you don’t have a problem with the track list, I doubt much else would be an issue. My 2 cents.

  4. Chad Wright says:

    I’d pass if I were you.

    Having said that, I have a blast with it.

    I just know you and know you’d probably regret the purchase a month from now.

  5. John says:

    A friend of my 10 year old daughters came over today and brought her new Guitar Hero game with her. I knew it was usually for teens so I was nervous from the start. Upon starting it up, I was shocked to see the women in the band dressed in “extremely” skimpy and basically “slutty” outfits. One girl had an extremely short skirt and the camera was down at the stage aimed right up her skirt. That combined with the pentagrams and just overall defiant attitude that propells rock and roll and I immediately said, “No, I don’t think we’re going to do this!” My 10 year old was shocked and even maybe a little bit embarrased at first but after talking about it with her and her friend, explained that that kind of stuff is not in line with how we’re raising you. We want you to be a young lady and this is not the kind of things ladies watch and are absorbed in. They seemed to “get it” and within minutes were ok. In fact after that we were rolling on the floor together laughing and carryng on. I can feel the respect from her. She knows that I’m just not some old mean parent but that I truly have her best interest at heart.

    While many people here probably won’t agree with me (I can hear the arguements now… “Doesn’t your child wear a bathing suit on the beach?” or “One video game is not going to ruin them!”, but look people, our kids live in a culture today where this kind of thing is shoved down their throat constantly. It is a statiscally proven fact that kids are influenced negatively by many of their surroundings, sometimes despite parental attempts at steering them in the right direction. That said, parents need to be courageous and do their job. It is “ok” to say no, despite societal pressures and commercially popular video games. How far will they push our kids? When will parents set their foot down and demand that it is not appropriate for children!

    This game sends a wrong message to our children. I urge all parents to think very seriously about this and have the courage to speak up.

  6. banjogirl says:

    So glad someone had the spiritual disernment to say no to this filth! I wish more could see how we have gotten so use to this sort of thing that we cant tell right from wrong, woe to them that call evil good and good evil. Wake up America we are surrounded by bread and circus to keep us distracted! a time for separation is being called on for the people of god it seems the churches have very little disernment in this last day.

Leave a Reply

