Next Year’s Goals

I am working on next years goals right now. I should have done them earlier. But I have been busy. I believe if a church’s goals are not reflected in people and decisions, then what’s the use. The church has to be about making a difference in people’s lives – those in and outside the church. And the danger is forgetting it is Christ who makes the difference and God using the church as a tool for that process.

So our goals have to be partly about reaching the lost, the unchurched, and the hurting and poor and and and. I also want to set a goal to give towards missions. We missed our mark last year. But considering we were finishing out a new building, it is not hard to see how financially tight we were. This year though, I want to give a very healthy amount.

I am obviously thinking out loud as I write this and formulating some thoughts. I just want to be completely open to God as I try and lead His church.

Leave a Reply

