Old Dog

Back in the day, when I was a youth pastor, I could go to school events and the students would hang around with me. They wouldn’t mind running around with their youth pastor. Those days are gone. Today, I go to my son’s high school events. And what do people see? My sons dad. I really like students. When I see a bunch, the youth pastor in me wants to dive in, buy everyone cokes, and “kick it with my home boys.” But alas, I am now the old dog. I think I still have a good rapore with students. I understand how to get them talking, to put them at ease, and to get them laughing. But I had the realization that I am the “old dog” on campus.

In an unrelated note, my son had three shots on goal that for whatever reason just didn’t go in. He is sniffing around now trying to get his first goal. I am hoping Thursday night he rattles in a couple.

Leave a Reply

