Satisfied

I think there must be a fine balance between being satisfied and unsatisfied. I personally wrestle constantly with not being satisfied. That can be a compulsive night mare. But it can also be a great motivator to continually improve on things. The challenge is to know what matters and what doesn’t.

I have to make sure I don’t kill my team because I feel the standards of excellence aren’t high enough. On the other hand, I have to discuss ways that the level isn’t good enough. I have to make sure I don’t nag my kids too much on the non-critical things, but don’t allow for sub-standard activity on the critical things.

And at this moment, I am thinking of a couple of things. First, am I really doing and living and managing the way God wants me to? Are the things I am concerned about the same things God is concerned about? Do I have His eye on these things? Second, how does the issue line up with how it impacts people? Is the current standard going to detract from the experience of others. In other words, some things are just plain stupid for me to be concerned about. But other things are rightfully on the radar. The problem is having the maturity and wisdom to properly categorize.

Leave a Reply

