It’s bugging me

Move on. You probably won’t want to read the rest of this post. It’s just my way of venting. I know, everyone says don’t vent on your blog. I don’t care. It’s bugging me.

Firing people. I read this quote again yesterday from another blogger. “Hire slowly and fire quickly”. This is such a shallow and stupid quote. I understand the point. Make sure who you hire is the right person. But I am going to say it again. Jesus had 12 disciples. And they all probably could have been fired at one point or another. One doubted He was even Jesus. One openly denied Him three times. The all wondered who was the most important of the bunch. They all seemed to fail at one or more tasks. Using this quote as His leadership mantra, we would not have had 12 disciples originally but somewhere around 48. It is easier to shirk our responsibility to groom and train and mentor and prepare people in leadership and simply fire them. And eventually, you will have a group of people around you who are more afraid of keeping their jobs and playing it safe and making sure they kiss up to you. I know there are those employees who must be fired. But is this small and limited number of people really the reason that we should just be more inclined to fire people? Help me out here.

Church advertising on Christian radio. This still bugs me. Let’s analyze. Who is the target audience. Christians? Most non-Christians don’t listen to Christian radio. And what is the situation with most listeners? They go to church. So you are spending advertising dollars reaching a group of people that are already saved and probably go to church somewhere. So the goal, then, would be to attract people who are already in a church. So what you want is for people to leave their church and come to your church. Help me out here. What am I missing?

I got it off the internet. I am a bit nervous that the internet, or should I say the wholesale copying of a sermon series, is starting to take the place of serious Bible study and preparation on the part of the preacher. When I read blogs, I like to go to the web sites and see what they are up to. I can’t count any more how many times I have seen the same sermon being pushed that was already done at several other churches, right down to the graphics, message content, and even the illustrations. I understand it can be tough putting together something fresh week in and week out. But I also believe that we need to make sure the word we are giving to our churches is actually FOR our church. What am I missing here?

2 Responses to It’s bugging me

  1. Chad Wright says:

    Church advertising: You’re looking at it all wrong. You come from the mindset of wanting to reach the unchurched. All most churches want is more church people. People that understand the rules. People that don’t rock the boat. That’s who you get advertising on Christian radio.

    Really want to reach the unchurched? Pick any station that used to run Howard Stern and throw some of your ad dollars that way. Just make sure you don’t run the same commercial on there you’d run on Christian radio.

  2. “I Got It Off The Internet”

    There’s a delicate balance here. Speaking as someone who’s working a full time job in addition to pastoring a church, there’s the struggle of loving serious Bible study and the creation of fresh material and the lack of adequate/proper time to devote to doing this. So, do I present something to my congregation that’s rushed and not as true to the text as is necessary, or do I take advantage of sources that have been made available to me, as led by the Spirit after examination of the material, and personalize that? It’s a weekly struggle for me, personally.

    Of course, I long for the time in my ministry when I don’t have to be bi-vocational, should the Lord ever allow that–or at least for the time when that second job can be part-time, and I have more opportunity to concentrate on being a pastor and shepherd for my congregation.

    Oh, and can I vent on a pet peeve of mine while we’re at it? Waitresses who call you “honey,” “baby,” “sweetie,” and “dear” get under my skin. I’m not your significant other, and the over-personalization almost seems like I’m being talked down to–like, if you flirt with me, I’m supposed to leave you a bigger tip? Tell me your name, ask me for mine, and use it. That, combined with a glass that isn’t allowed to become empty, will garner a more than generous gratuity from yours truly.

Leave a Reply

