Blogging is kind of a scam

I think it’s way too easy to blog. And I think it can be kind of a scam. In other words, for the most part, I could write whatever I want and if you don’t know me, you may not know if what I am saying is true.

I could tell you what a great dad I am. If you don’t know me, you probably think I am. But if you do know me, you measure me against what I write. If I say I am a horrible husband, you may agree or disagree with me if you know me. But if you don’t know me, you immediately make your opinion. You get the point here.

But there’s more. It’s so easy to write, and project an opinion, or promote a stream of expertise. But who is to check the information for accuracy and then provide the public rebuttal? Who calls out a person because what they wrote on their blog is inconsistent with the persons life? And if you did, would the blogger’s response be “Hey, shut up. It’s my blog. Go somewhere else.”

For me, I have to constantly remind myself not to blog about stuff I really am horrible at. And if I dare blog anyway, I have to remind myself to put a disclaimer on it. And I am reminding myself even now to keep up that practice.

Blogging is kind of a scam.

3 Responses to Blogging is kind of a scam

  1. eric wright says:

    I used to feel the same way. I didn’t blog for a long time because I discovered that every yahoo who could hit a keyboard could put whatever they wanted. And, being part of the publishing field with all its standards, I was a bit of an elitist.

    The best blogs, however, are honest about their shortcomings. Writers have for years written about topics they don’t know anything about in order to learn about them. The best bloggers are honest about this process.

    Since reading your blog I have discovered that you are the best church planter this side of Rick Warren! How big is your church now? 10,000? 15,000? 🙂

  2. Dude. I appreciate your enthusiasm for my church planting skills. And since it’s my blog, we are just under 1,000. I am not saying how much is “just”. But we are huge in my mind.

    I appreciate your comments. I really agree with you so much. And I find there is a constant need for me to “keep it real”. Hope you are doing well.

  3. Chad Wright says:

    I have no problem writing about the times I screw up. I’ve found a lot of people come out of the woodworks and say “yeah, me too.” That makes me feel like a little less of a screw up.

    Transparency makes for interesting reading.

Leave a Reply

