It was ok

Every Sunday, when I finish preaching, I find my wife. And I ask her the same question. “So how was today?” Today’s answer – “It was ok. Not bad. Not great.” I really rely heavily on her to give me honest critique. It helps me stay focused on delivering a relevant and spiritually challenging message. It’s not that I feel like I need someone to rate my performance. It’s just that I need feedback.

I also know that if God is really the main component of any message. I can’t think that it’s all about me and what I say. It is all about the power of the Holy Spirit. It is all about God’s word coming through. It is not at all about the messenger. But it is all about the message. So there is a dynamic tension at all times.

Leave a Reply

