Obama and his pastor

I have been casually watchng this scene unfold with Obama and his not so close anymore pastor. And lost in all of this seems to be the responsibility of pastors. When the story is about the pastor, and not about the message of Jesus Christ, isn’t that a HUGE problem? I haven’t really listened all that much to his sermon(s). But it strikes me that what is getting the most attention is anything but the message of Christ.

I am about to read a biography on Bily Graham. I am fascinated by him. I am sure he had some controversial moments. But I am guessing that his moments were completely wrapped around the words of Christ.

And so for me, the takeaway is that Jesus is the story. He is the message. He is the controversial One. He should be the headline and copy for any story about me or our church.

4 Responses to Obama and his pastor

  1. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  2. Sammy says:

    I have been searching for the same thing, the reaction of the clergy in regards to Pastor Wright’s words and I have not found much if anything. Like you, I feel that the Christian message has been lost, but nobody is touching this subject. I wonder why.

  3. carl says:

    Actually Almost all of the controversies surrounding Billy Graham (the few there have been) surrounded money, politics, and grandstanding. Jesus was not in any of them. This is why they were problems.

    Expect to see more of this as churches move further and further from Scripture based messages and increasingly advertise messages that center on finances, sex, and the good life.

  4. Hmmm. That’s a whole new post what you said Carl. I hope to see what the biography says about Billy Graham.

    Seems the more I move along in life, the more temptation there is to deviate from the message of Christ. Great response.. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

