Ache

Last night I walked around three miles. Then, I chased down soccer balls for my sons team. I don’t know if it was God, but it seems like they were missing the goal intentionally, thus making me walk and run another mile or so. This morning, I ache.

I think of those guys that are 50 and 60 and even 70 who run two or three miles a day. And I wonder if playing soccer til I was 30 plus was such a good idea. It has done some damage to my body. I can feel where the hairline crack in my ankle was. I can tell where the cartilege in my left knee was. I can feel the screws in my right knee from an ACL reconstruct. Maybe I can get whole leg replacements on both legs.

Here’s to me who should really be sitting in a whirlpool instead of at a desk.

2 Responses to Ache

  1. Does it make you feel better to know that my 82 year old Grandmother still tap dances, mows 3 acres with her non-riding, non-self-propelled lawn mower, and walks a path around a lake (3 miles 1 loop) 3 times a week – 3 loops each time?

    If I have 1/3 the energy she has when I’m 80 I’ll consider myself successful.

    (I don’t think that I have 1/3 her energy TODAY!)

  2. Chad Wright says:

    ::Queue the “Real Men of Genious” theme song::

    Here’s to you Reliving-the-glory-days-via-injuries-on-your-blog man.

Leave a Reply

