Seesmic disorder

So I spent the last few days seriously evaluating Seesmic.com to see if it would be any value to me or to the church or for any other application for that matter. And here are some random thoughts on the service.

1. Social pulse – I wouldn’t say it was a way to define the pulse of society. But it did provide a lot of insight into what people think about what is happening today. Since the platform is highly global, opinions come in from all over the place. And since it’s video, it is happening in near real time.

2. Very one sided – I was amazed at how democratic and how atheistic the feel is. It almost felt as if certain individuals kept pulling conversations to atheism and agnosticism. Mind you, I tried not to interject any of my own beliefs. I simply tried to engage. The other side of it was how very democratic most of the individuals were. In fact, I can’t remember a conversation about anyone raising the republican flag. Not that it’s a bad thing. It’s just obviously very democratic.

3. Some good some bad – Some of the conversations on there were simply awful. But some were really engaging. There are some incredibly amazing and bright individuals on there that are pushing some serious intellect. There are some very witty people. And because it’s highly international, there are wide open discussions about differences in culture, style, and national preference. For instance, there is a photojournalist in the UK. The guy is simply amazing. He brings up some very impressive thought provoking questions. Challenging.

4. What’s it like – Imagine you are at coffee shop. And imagine you can listen in to any conversation and you can contribute to any conversation. And imagine that you can stay current on any conversation. And you use your cam and mic to interject. Or, you can stand up in the middle of the crowd, make your own statement, and then see who wants to join your conversation. It’s just that random. Topics are all over the place. Sports. Politics. Whatever

5. Done that – I found for me personally, it’s not much value. I approached it from the angle of hearing from people rather than talking at them. I wanted to hear what people not in church were saying. But beyond that, it didn’t serve me that much as a useful tool. As far as church goes, because conversations don’t currently stick (the timeline keeps moving on) it might be challenging to keep conversations moving along a timeline of several days. So for me, I tried out Seesmic and I find it of little value. If some of my friends were on there, it would be a blast. But not so.

2 Responses to Seesmic disorder

  1. Hey Tony, I just e-mailed you about this before I read your post. I’m too impatient these days to try to figure out something like this, so I like to rely on input like yours to help me decide if I should bother trying it. . .

  2. i was wondering where you went off to. it’s a shame you’re not on seesmic any more because you added a good balance to a lot of what was there. truth be told, once i found out you were a christian, i was wondering whether i’d see eye to eye with you, being that i’m a bleeding heart liberal and a buddhist.

    once i started to get more familiar with your style and approach, i began to think that you’re the kind of person that would add to the dialogue and create a more inclusive world wherever you went.

    i’m not sure i’m making sense, but i what i mean to say is that i was impressed by your willingness to talk to folks that were obviously so different from yourself in a respectful way. i think that goes a long way to bringing people to your way of thinking and seeing the world. oh and a great sense of humor always helps!

    cheers!

Leave a Reply

