Just another day

It is just another day around the world. Not here. The U.S. celebrates today as our independence day. And I am glad. It’s a day where we can sort of put down our political alignments. It’s a day where we can lay aside our personal agendas and rally around food and fireworks and family and friends. So it’s an important and significant day. And there is no doubt we can’t fully imagine what so many people have done to make sure that we have our freedoms and opportunities and everything else we enjoy in our country.

But around the world, it’s just another day. And for me, the challenge is not to simply celebrate our freedom, but also to think more globally and think more widely. I get to go to a Starbucks and enjoy a $6 beverage. That same amount could supply food for a week for a few people in another country. Freedom? Yep. I have it. But I am starting to get really convicted about my excesses compared to what is a critical need elsewhere. I think God is stirring me about this. It’s just another day of starvation. It’s just another day of homelessness. It’s just another day without health.

Not trying to be a downer. But to much is given, much is required. And with every right, there comes responsibility.

4 Responses to Just another day

  1. Right on, Tony. It’s great to celebrate what we have, but not so great to celebrate excess or to forget that we have so much more than most people in the world, or even people in our own town.

    Have you seen Peter Menzel’s books, “The Material World,” “Women in the Material World” and “Hungry Planet: What the World Eats?” Each book tells the story of its families through photos of material possessions and the food people eat. Amazing.

    http://tinyurl.com/5maujc
    http://tinyurl.com/6h2cuv
    http://tinyurl.com/6hhalr

  2. Jennet Sullivan says:

    Hi, I’m trying to find a local church. Do you have services, and if so what time? Thank you!

  3. Lisa. Thanks for the comment and the book recommendations. I never heard of “tinyurl”…grins. I have been to foreign countries and seen the issues first hand. Wow. We are spoiled.

    Jennet, I sent you an email. Let me know if you did not get it! Thanks for finding us!

  4. Callie says:

    Hey Tony,

    I have that book “Material World” if you ever want to take a look at it. It’s pretty amazing to see the disparity between different places. But, like you said, I too have seen it firsthand to some degree. That’s what totally changed me as to what I consider my “needs” versus “wants.” It’s so freeing to escape the clutches of all that “stuff!”

Leave a Reply

