Dr. Drillbit

Today I had to go to the dentist. My wife made the appointment for me. I reluctantly went. I did not want to go at all. I just don’t enjoy any part of it. My purpose in going was to get a cleaning. Period.

The assistant came in and took my blood pressure. Good news. It was a bit on the high side. Never had high blood pressure before so a doctor’s appointment is next on the agenda. She then did the xrays. Why is it that the stuff they put in your mouth to hold the xray bits have the comfort level of biting down on broken glass? And then the poking and prodding came from the doc. After his exam, the tally was
Almost all my gums were at a 3 or 4 on the “you don’t floss like you should” scale, 1 being the best
Three cavities
Two fillings need to be reworked
One crown
One extremely deep cleaning

The cleaning was done by Dr. Jackhammer himself. No numbing. My wife says they never do that for cleaning. I wish they would have. I love that pina colada numbing gel. Anyway, So I have doc in my mouth with the instrument-o-death, his bicycle helmet review mirror, the assistant with her hand and her shop vac. It got crowded in there real fast. It kind of hurt, but I am kind of a wimp when it comes to dental junk.

He then advises he can knock out all the cavities and filling re-do’s in an hour and a half at another appointment. Sign me up for a double portion.

Then the bill. It was $800 for today’s visit. My portion after insurance was around $380. Are you kidding me? I got there at 8:00am and was out at 9:45am. That’s a pretty good haul for mounting some pneumatic gear and banging around on some gums and ivories. Sheesh.

The good news is I got a free toothbrush, toothpaste and dental floss.

One Response to Dr. Drillbit

  1. Mandy says:

    Tony;

    Welcome to the world of high blood pressure. I got that surprise earlier this summer. They’ve been sending me for tests all summer, just to decided that there’s nothing wrong… (just getting old I guess) and then prescribing more meds!

    About the pain from cleaning…I have been know to take some motrin before I go in for the cleaning because of the achiness in my teeth afterward.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

