Geekfest

I had a geek meeting at church tonight. We went over all kinds of stuff from live video streaming, podcasting, web pages, overall presentation of online content.

On the one hand, I love technology. But I also know that I can’t keep up with it all and pastor the church. I love rich content and pushing all kinds of information out as much as we can with our budget. But I have to pastor first, and geek somewhere around fourth.

So James is taking on the I.T. chores for the church. I hate letting this stuff go, but I need to. And he is more than capable. And he knows what he is doing which helps. And I think he is pretty pumped about getting to run with this stuff.

Here is the beautiful part. James came to our church hoping to find a place to fit in, settle in and serve in. James has not always been active in service at church. So for him, it was like walking off the concrete sidewalk right into the eight foot section. And he gets it. He understands this is about reaching people for Jesus. His wife is kind of amazed at all he is doing and his commitment. I am always amazed at what God does with people in our church and in other churches.

That’s just one of our stories at Legacy. And I am praying for more amazing stories. By the way, James is a Cowboy’s fan. It’s not a requirement to be in our church, but it’s kind of an unwritten rule if you want to serve here. Ok. Not really. Sort of not.

4 Responses to Geekfest

  1. David says:

    Actually, it really helps if you are NOT a cow*@y fan or, if you are, you are really, really shy about it. Ashamed even.

    Balance is good.

  2. David says:

    Oh yeah, go James! Great job.

    Sorry, whenever I hear anything about the little boys from Big D I go into, as Cesar Millan would call it, the “Red Zone” and I can’t think anything but rage. It doesn’t help the matter that James beat me in week 1.

  3. Chad Wright says:

    You’re waaaay outnumbered here Dave. Why not just give up?

  4. David says:

    Because I am not afraid of being outnumbered 3 to 1. Was Sampson afraid when he had but a donkey jawbone for weapon? Did David fear Goliath? What about Gideon when he attacked the Midianites? No!

    I will not fear a pack of uncercumcised Philist…cowboy fans either.

Leave a Reply

