Political cat vomit

Sorry. It’s the only title I could think of. So here’s the problem. Putting a sign in your front yard may or may not help you win someone to Jesus. Declaring your allegiance to one party or the other may cause division between you and someone else that Jesus never intended to be there.

Don’t read this as I don’t care or I don’t have my candidate picked out (though no real choices are good). But I don’t want my political affiliation get in the way of my ability to talk with someone and share the love of Christ with them.

My neighbor has an Obama placard in their window. And now, they have an Obama sign curb side. If you love Obama or are a Democrat, you will embrace that neighbor more than you might normally. If you are Republican or don’t like Obama at all, you might write off that neighbor simply because you now know their political affiliation.

Politics never healed a paralytic. Politics never calmed the sea. Politics never rescued the woman caught in adultery. Politics won’t ever comfort someone who had an abortion, got a divorce, lost everything they had in a flood, broke down on the side of the road, lost a loved one in a car accident or or or.

I really don’t want to stick a sign out in front of me that declares my allegiance more than the sign I make that points to the cross. We must be informed, pray, vote for the candidate of our choice, and support whoever gets in office. But if your political position is first in front of your Christian devotion, you are electing the wrong King!

3 Responses to Political cat vomit

  1. debbie says:

    thank you for that… never loooked at it that way… want to go pull my sign

  2. Debbie
    I don’t want to discourage your sign posting. Just that I feel sometimes it does put up a wall between those that don’t believe in the same candidate we do. Just thinking out loud.

  3. debbie says:

    okay…so I didn’t pull the sign or take off my bumper sticker, but this really made me think… I’ve had this word INTENTIONAL rolling around in my head (now kinda banging) and I’m left wondering…. the opposite of intentional is unintentional, therefore accidental. So, if I am not intentionally sharing Christ, I can only be doing it by accident, and I don’t want that. This word is becoming increasingly convicting in my own life. Couple this with your post…. I have intentionally placed a sign in my yard, a sticker on my car… do you see where I’m going with this? So, just thank you for your thought provoking words.

Leave a Reply

