Election Night Thoughts

I am sitting here and slightly listening to all the election coverage. Frankly it’s tedious. So I thought I would blog some thoughts.

First, let me say that no matter who wins, Jesus is still in the ultimate position of authority. If all hell breaks loose as a result of whoever wins what, it will be because Jesus allowed it. And it flows with the timeline laid out by the plan of Heaven. So whatever happens, Jesus is in control. Totally in control.

Second, I am saddened at how divided our country has gotten. Once a pillar of worldwide strength and security, we have become a fragmented nation of whiners, complainers, dividers and morally adrift. Instead of trying to minimize our differences and maximize our strengths, we have just agreed to be divided and to continue to point fingers everywhere else but at ourselves. We have serious problems to solve. And from what I can tell, none of the candidates being voted in around the country has a serious plan and a serious concern to pull together and fix our mess.

Third, our country has lost all sense of responsibility. And the way you can tell that is because we look to our officials to fix everything. Come on. If we all would take a personal inventory and evaluate where we are right now and solve the problems around us, we could change the tenor and swing of our nation. I am personally challenging our church to get out of debt in 2009. I am personally going to challenge our church to find new ways to break the grip the people in our community may have on government support or dependence. I am thinking of things like unemployment, food subsidy, or welfare. We as a church must learn to take care of our own. I want our church to get more proactive in writing to those representing us in office and letting them know exactly what we expect Biblically regarding laws going before our governments. WE MUST TAKE PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR WHAT WE CAN CHANGE!

Fourth, I have heard a lot of people talking about the end times and Revelation and tribulation. If it’s going to happen, then it’s going to happen. If it’s not, then it’s not. I don’t want to spend time trying to be ready for that. I want to be following Christ each and every moment of every day. If I am doing that, I will live through whatever Jesus wants me to. But I am not going to waste any time worrying about that. Sure I am intrigued. I am curious. But I don’t have that much time to review all that. I just want to get on with my day and follow Christ as best I can.

Fifth, I personally am disgusted with our government. It has stopped being a government for the people, by the people and of the people. It is now an elite status of individuals who are making laws and legislation that may or may not be in our best interest. This last economic bailout had to be filled with all kinds of special interest pork or it wouldn’t have passed. That is pathetic. It’s corrupt. And it’s borderline blackmail that our government can’t pass legislation unless it lines the individual states pockets with pork. Sorry, but I think it’s just an awful representation and it smacks of corruption.

Sixth, I rarely blog about politics. And it will be a while before I do. But I think we all must be people of prayer. Things change with prayer. And if we don’t pray, we are wasting our very best resource for making a difference. Instead of getting an “I voted today” sticker,  I would rather have an “I prayed today” sticker.

Leave a Reply

