Thursday night gumbo

OK. It’s not really gumbo. But it’s a post with lots of stuff.

I got a new job. Yes I am a church planter. But I choose to not drag on the church finances until it is healthy. So I took a new job at Faith Highway. They design and build web pages for the church community. I have read some of the good and bad press on the company. And I have met a few people there at Faith Highway and am fairly impressed with what they are striving to put together. It will probably be a challenging job but I think I am going to dig it. It’s tech. It’s web. It’s church. So it’s a perfect fit for me. I start on Mar 3rd.

We made the switch today at church to 16×9. We can’t afford HD yet but eventually we will. This migration helps us prepare the way for HD. It looks great and I think the new look will be a nice change.

My son is thinking about going to college in Australia. He is a sophomore. That gives me two and a half years to pray. I think it’s a good deal and would actually be an excellent experience for him. But I don’t think my wallet will share in the enthusiasm.

We are going to push from now to til the summer to reach 50 more unchurched people. That’s a small number by some standards. But that’s our goal. If we hit it, we will bump it. But we need to be more serious about getting people to meet Christ. If you don’t go to church, please consider it!

The business next door to our church is turning their place into a hukah bar. I can’t really comment on that here, but needless to say, we are praying!

I heard someone say the other day that Jesus was all about tolerance and acceptance and that He never judged anyone. Read the Bible people. Jesus was not tolerant. He blatantly said that He was the way, truth, life. He constantly ripped the pharisees and saducees. Jesus was pretty raw about how He felt. Jesus is no pacifist and no pushover. Read about Him in Revelation and you get a glimpse of the soon returning Christ. There is a bumper sticker that says that Jesus is coming back and He is ticked. May not be completely accurate, but ….

SXSW is soon. And we have friends coming from California that we only know via Seesmic, Tokbox, and blogs. It will be fun to meet them and feed their faces with Austin food and feed their eyes with Austin sunsets.

President Obama, could you call down the hall and tell your Secretary of the Treasury to hurry up with my tax return. I could use that dough. I want to go to Ruth Chris Steakhouse. Hurry up.

Watching my son navigate the waters of dating is rough. I can’t make him feel better. I can only be there encourage him.

Tonight, I asked my wife where the kids were. They were both in their rooms playing guitar. That’s pretty neat if you ask me. Not together of course. Please. Let’s not get crazy here.

3 Responses to Thursday night gumbo

  1. […] Tips Answers Guides placed an observative post today on Thursday night gumboHere’s a quick excerptHurry up. Watching my son navigate the waters of Bdating/B is rough. I can’t make him feel better. I can only be there encourage him. […]

  2. […] Out of the Miry Clay put an intriguing blog post on Thursday night gumboHere’s a quick excerptRead the BBible/B people. Jesus was not tolerant. He blatantly said that He was the way, truth, life. […]

  3. Bruce Chant says:

    Great to hear about the job Tony. Congrats. Praying it will be incredibly fruitful for you bro!

Leave a Reply

