New Job

Next Monday, I start my new job. Four the last four months, I have been looking for a new position, all the while doing church work. And I have been fairly busy with that and going out of my way to disrupt my wife’s day. But that is all over. Now I get to go back to being bi-vocational. And I get to quit looking for a new job. It’s rough out there.

I often get asked how I manage a church, a family, and work full time. For me, it is all about the calendar. I am not rigid on paper quite as much, but between my task list, my calendar, and a sense of urgendy, I try dilligently to keep it all together. Non negotiables are Bible study, prayer, and sleep. I maximize my lunch times by playing catch up or study or phone calls. And I make sure I work at work so that I can be home at home. I have a set schedule when things must be done for church. And I rely on others to handle what has been delegated to them. We have an amazing staff at Legacy where our leaders do an amazing job helping make Legacy function.

Where I struggle is long range stuff. When I am working at a full time job, it is harder to plan and execute long range vision and planning. It can be done but it takes work. The other down side is that church work has to get done in the evening and on weekends.

But it is a great situation. I get to work with some great people doing some great things and I can contribute to an organization with all I have. I get to give more to the church and to God’s work. And I get to keep in my mind what every other person goes through that has to work but loves the people and place and person of God.

One Response to New Job

  1. […] Living Forward placed an observative post today on New JobHere’s a quick excerptNext Monday, I start my new job. Four the last four months, I have been looking for a new position, all the while doing church work. And I have been fairly busy with that and going out of my way to disrupt my wife’s day. But that is all over. Now I get to go back to being bi-vocational. And I get to quit looking for a new job. It’s rough out there. I often get asked how I manage a church, a family, and work full time. For me, it is all about the calendar. I am not rigid on paper quite as much, […]

Leave a Reply

