Jessica Simpson

Let me be honest. I am no fan. But that’s not the point of this post. I read where she occasionally forgets the words to her lyrics and has the band start over. She explains she is a perfectionist and wants to give her best for her fans. There are a ton of things going through my mind about this. On the one hand, I think she should just have it down. People are paying good money for a performance.

But then, my sensability kicks in. Here is a human being who is flawed. For whatever reason, we seem to demand perfection from those in front of us. We want polish. We want excellence. We are entitled. But I think it is somewhat refreshing to see someone be ok with revealing her imperfection. And some people obviously demoted her performance because of it.

As I write this, I think how often I have needed  a do over. How many times have I had to apologize. How many times have I failed and needed a restart. And if it wasn’t for the reset on the computer game, I would be a complete and total failure. We are all Jessica Simpson. And Jesus knew it. In fact, wasn’t that what He said on the cross. Forgive them Father. Jesus became for us the do over.

So here’s the thing. Let’s be people who

4 Responses to Jessica Simpson

  1. matt says:

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. kandygrams says:

    Let’s be people who…?

    • Grins. I obviously forgot to finish my thought on this. But maybe I don’t need to. Maybe it’s a fill in the blank that is specific to the person reading!!! Yeah. That’s it.

  3. joncurtis says:

    amen. i like this pt. good stuff.

Leave a Reply

