I don’t want to know

I really don’t like going to the doctor. I guess I feel like if I don’t go, I won’t find out what’s wrong with me. If I don’t find out what’s wrong with me, I won’t have to make any changes. But, the pain in my side, the one that wouldn’t go away, has forced my hand. I have had my visit with my doctor – not exactly a fountain of personality. I have had my arm poked for a blood sample. And I have had xrays. Besides not knowing what is wrong, I have high blood pressure. I have the fortune of taking medication now. But I am intent on getting in shape, losing weight and eating right. Just hate HATE the idea of being on medications. I am guessing my cholesterol test is going to reveal my deep obsession with pizzas and hamburgers. Drat you medical science. I suppose it’s good I went. I will now hopefully get some things taken care of.

And that brings me to church. Some people treat church like the doctor. They only go when they have to. Married. Buried. Baptized. Easter.  Christmas. Sadly, being in church on a regular basis is pretty similar to maintaining a healthy lifestyle. In church, there are a lot of people that are there to help. God is not trying to hurt you but rather, trying to heal you and help you and get you spiritually fit. We may not want to make changes. But changes will help us be better in the end.

My doctor didn’t wrinkle up his nose at me because he condemned my avoidance of a physician for five years. It was his general disposition. God however, sees you coming and runs up and grabs you and welcomes you home! Jesus, after all, is called the Great Physician.

2 Responses to I don’t want to know

  1. You can change your doctor if you don’t like him, Tony. There are great doctors out there who are personable and show interest in their patients, offer thorough patient education, etc. Don’t settle for the “wrinkle-nose” guy if you’re not happy with his care.

  2. Lisa. You are right. I already decided after I get all this cleared up I am finding a new guy. It really doesn’t take much to make a first impression. This was the first time I met him. Not exactly warm and friendly. He could have been having a bad day. But…so was I 🙂

Leave a Reply

