What’s new

Haven’t blogged in a while here. Still trying to wrap my head around how I want to publish information, yet keep what is published for the church separate from my personal stuff. I might be coming out of that soon, so today, I give you a new post.

Pretty sure that no matter where we turn, depression wants to attack. The recent disaster in Japan can make you depressed. Our economy. The news. Our government. Disease. How our future unfolds. You don’t need to go on a hunt to find something to bring on a fit of depression. According to http://www.depressionstatistics.org/,  fifteen million people in the United Stats suffer from depression. And many tend to medicate it, drink it off or eat it away. Depression is a nasty nagging culprit.

But there must be a choice on our part not to accept the invitation to wallow in it. We have to push it away. Depression is like tofu. If you add water to tofu, it explodes. If you lean into depression, it will grow and eventually explode. For me, I have to pray it out, grab my Bible, think about all the good things going on, and choose not to let it ruin me. I have a few things that I could really get depressed about. But God is not interested in me going down that road. He is interested in me putting my trust in Him every step through it. No one likes to walk in dog poop. But if you keep walking, eventually it will eventually wear off your shoe. Stand there and you have no hope of getting rid of it. Stupid analogy I know. But we must not let depression rob us.

Leave a Reply

