Poor Gary

March 25, 2008

You gotta read about our good friend Gary Lamb. http://www.garylamb.org/2008/03/25/easter-egg-drop-recap/

I have to admit I pray for this guy a lot. And this time, he really needs it. In a way, he is in an unusual situation. Word about his church will spread to parts unknown. In some good ways and in some bad ways. But honestly, what they were attempting turned out so much bigger than they were ready for. And I bet Jesus smiled at them and loved their step of faith. And I really appreciate them for doing what they did. Especially since I get to watch from a distance, take notes, and learn form them. The pictures speak volumes.


Camera Delay

March 25, 2008

The Fed Ex guy came when no one was at our house. I can think of one verse in the Bible that sums up how I feel.

 Proverbs 13:12 Hope deferred makes the heart sick, butdesire fulfilled is a tree of life.


Annullment

March 25, 2008

I read this story. I don’t know why but I did. Apparently Pamela Anderson had her marriage to Rick Solomon annulled. I don’t know how many marriages and re-marriages this is for her now. But honestly, is there somewhere in the Bible that lays out guidelines for an annullment? Like it’s a magic eraser. Oooops. Never happened. Do over.

Honestly, marriage is a whole lot more sacred than any of us will realize on this side of Heaven. It scares me how casually some people go about the covenant of marriage. It is not casual. It is not disposable. It is serious business.


Executive Pastors

March 25, 2008

I have studied for a few years the role of an executive pastor. And the two models I served under that actually had exec. pastors were very similiar. The exec was over the pastoral team and there was somewhat limited access to the senior pastor. In one case, the exec pastor was highly motivated to care for, mentor, train and support the pastors he was over. In the other case, the exec was more or less a buffer between the staff and the senior pastor.

I can tell you that in both cases, I hated the structure. I needed direct input from the senior pastor on a routine basis. I needed guidance and mentoring and a look into the senior leaders heart so that I could pass that down to the students I was pastoring.

Now, more than ever, I really REALLY believe that for me, I want people who are pastors over groups of people in our church to report directly to me. That’s what I am thinking right now. I know some of you are saying “Oh just wait. You’ll change.” But wait. Why will I change? What causes a senior leader to delegate this role out? Is it frustration? Business? Tediousness?

In my mind, for our church, the executive pastor handles administration. Finance department. Facilities. Event management. I.T. The business end of the church. The definition may vary from church to church. But that’s what I am thinking.

And the main reason I want the people pastors to report direct to me is that they pastor people. And if the vision flows from the top, there must be consistency and congruency. I don’t want that vision to be skewed as it flows through and exec pastor.

I realize this is a sketchy post. But I am just trying to get my thoughts down. It’s been on my mind a lot lately.


Energy

March 25, 2008

There is so much energy and effort and prayer that goes into Easter. It’s all in for that day right? I challenged my staff this week to pray for this coming Sunday service just as much as they prayed for Easter. There is a kind of bell curve about things. But prayer doesn’t have to be one of those subject to the high’s and low’s of the calender and momentum. So I encourage you to maintain a high level of prayer for ministry.


Simplicity

March 25, 2008

As we are looking at the calendar for the next couple of months, I have to remind myself that one of the strengths of our church is simplicity. We are not complicated. And we keep a very simple and straightforward calendar. The rythm is not hard to understand. But we have to fight to keep it that way. It is so important to know our strengths and not veer too far away from them. Simple doesn’t mean less quality less engaging. It just means simple.


Nikon D40

March 25, 2008

Ever since we brought Chad on staff at Legacy there has been this dark, creeping, sinister electronics presence. I knew he was a Mac geek coming into the deal. But then he shows up with an iphone and a bunch of Nikon gear. And because Chad hangs out on the dark side, there has been some desire in me lately to get an iphone since I have been an avid user of the itouch for a few months.

After seeing his camera, I have felt that dark presence again to get a Nikon. I have always been a Canon user. ALWAYS. But yesterday I gave in to the dark side and purchased a D40. I did go by Best Buy to take a look at it. As I picked it up I could hear this subtle, quiet, “yessssss”. By the way, is Best Buy becoming a Barnes and Noble of sorts? You simply go there to check stuff out but you go home and order it online.

At any rate, the D40 is headed my way and should arrive at my house today. But I will not go down that final dark alley of the Mac. No no. I will resist. And don’t make a comment that “resistence is futile”.